What's Your Favourite?

Favourite Genre?
 

Locations of visitors to this page

Who's Online?

We have 50 guests online
Reviews & Feedback
More Thoughts & Musings PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 2
PoorBest 
The Rules - Reviews & Feedback
Sunday, 14 May 2006 20:22

GHQ W81 T72M1Continuing the discussion...

Back in Journal 51 Mark Bevis responded to my previous article on MSH (Modern Spearhead) and my replies to some of his ideas and thoughts… As it has now been some time (2 years or more) since that article I thought I'd write some more on the subject, outline some of what I have been up to, and reply to Mark's recent comments as well.

As I write this I am in the process of building a completely new Soviet 1982-86 era Motor Rifle Division from scratch, along with an additional Tank Regiment as well as a British Mechanised Brigade and am intending to build a German or Belgian Brigade and a small US 'Task Force' to accompany them.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 24 March 2010 18:14
Read more...
 
Thoughts & Responses PDF Print E-mail
The Rules - Reviews & Feedback
Friday, 25 April 2003 19:52

Soviet Combat Team with BMP-1PHaving signed up to the SOTCW Journal sometime ago, and being a co-author of Modern Spearhead, I had taken an interest in Mark Bevis’ review of MSH (Modern Spearhead) in Journal 38, and his on going series of articles since then. Mark has raised some good points, proposed some very sound “house-rules”, and otherwise raised some issues for topical discussion!

In the following article I have made a general response to Mark’s thoughts in his review, some specific responses to his proposed rules changes and house-rules, and in conclusion some links to useful MSH related websites (the latter not reproduced here as they are now obsolete - Ed).

Last Updated on Tuesday, 23 March 2010 15:28
Read more...
 
Amendments & Suggestions PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 1
PoorBest 
The Rules - Reviews & Feedback
Monday, 01 July 2002 19:21

GHQ N87 Leopard 1A1A1The following rules additions/amendments are things we have considered:

2.0.2 Training

In the modem period the differing levels of professionalism and training throughout the world has a significant impact on combat ability. Whilst the existing rules reflect this in the order system and artillery response table - it is not reflected where it counts most - in combat! The morale ratings reflect it in close assaults only, but as it stands an Ethiopian with a 1950s bazooka shoots as well as an SAS man with a laser guided Hellfire. Thus for any scenario one force (of part of a force) should be designated as Better Trained which improves their direct fire response.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 24 March 2010 08:23
Read more...
 
More thoughts on Modern Spearhead PDF Print E-mail
The Rules - Reviews & Feedback
Friday, 31 December 2004 23:28

GHQ N77 M47 PattonA right to reply?

Following John Moher’s article in Journal 48, I feel inclined to write back, and expand upon my points of view with aspects of the rules. John seems to like some of the ideas I have presented, but has not yet commented on the strategic bombers and Special Forces rules I suggested more recently. The latter could quite rightly be seen as tinkering unnecessarily, but I do like to cover all the options available in the real world.

John’s most important point is in his conclusion, and applies to other well-written rules sets, such as Fire and Fury. If the basic structure is right, the rules can be tinkered with and added to without destroying the original intent or adding too much complexity.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 23 March 2010 17:21
Read more...
 
More Suggestions PDF Print E-mail
The Rules - Reviews & Feedback
Wednesday, 01 January 2003 23:35

GHQ N123 Egyptian Sherman with AMX 75mm TurretFollowing a battle c1984 Soviets against British between me and Phil Shaw, the following further thoughts came up:

Close Assaults

The rules are not all that clear who can do overrun attacks and who can't, and we are not sure about the results of a failed attack. Particular example: 2 x FV438 Stands, 1 x Scorpion Stand and 1 x Spartan OP Stand all dug-in in hull down emplacements behind a hedgeline along a road, and facing across the road.

Last Updated on Monday, 09 August 2010 16:18
Read more...
 
News and Views PDF Print E-mail
The Rules - Reviews & Feedback
Saturday, 01 September 2001 17:38

GHQ N82 MAN 5-ton LorryMore of a wargamer's notebook than anything else this issue. As many of you will know my personal economic circumstances have forced me to sell a large part of my 1/300th collection for which there has been a great response - many thanks for all the support in these trying times.

I do intend to keep my Modern Spearhead collection and use unsold models as a core to rebuild armies in the future, with purchases more linked to organisations. I did manage to pick up a modem Dutch army at Ceasefire for £35 which at a stroke has given me almost two Mechanised Brigades in Spearhead; I finally have some YPR-765’s, as made by Skytrex.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 24 March 2010 18:13
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 2
Joomla Templates by Joomlashack